family · food · health · kids · lifestyle · nature · newblog · religion · Uncategorized · vegan

Plants Man!

1ceda5072c9d83b88d104f6f2abb5c6fI decided to become Vegan for Lent this year. In previous years I had given up Facebook, alcohol, and chocolate. But over time, as Facebook, alcohol and chocolate  (I know right, did she just say no chocolate!) are less important; I began to take an inventory in order to find something else that I could give-up that would be more meaningful. I thought, what about bread, or television, either of these would have been okay. Giving up bread, or television would have been challenging, as I love bread and my shows; however neither of these options would have left the impact on my life that I sought.

As the days went by I saw a friend post the following image on Facebook. This gave me my light bulb moment! large I fell in love with the idea of using such a spirit filled time of year to begin something new. I reframed my thinking; I was no longer missing out, or going without. I was actually cultivating something new that would glorify God, heal my body, reinvigorate my soul and give back life to the Earth and those who are suffering.  I made the decision to become Vegan.

I’ll admit I really did not know much about Veganism, but I set out to learn something new and to really embrace this new beginning.

My top three reasons for becoming Vegan for Lent:

  1. Meaningful
  2. Promotes a Healthy Lifestyle
  3. Respectful of God’s Creation

What is Veganism?

“Vegetarians do not eat meat, fish, or poultry. Vegans, in addition to being vegetarian, do not use other animal products and by-products such as eggs, dairy products, honey, leather, fur, silk, wool, cosmetics, and soaps derived from animal products.”

I turned to People for the Ethical Treatment of Animals (PETA) for additional insight as their website provides tons of amazing tools including recipes, meal plans, Vegan starter kits, and support.

I define Veganism as a series of compassion driven lifestyle choices, which yield phenomenal, and life-giving benefits.

Initially I was unsure if I could successfully complete forty days on a plant-based diet. I was clueless to what I could/couldn’t eat, or if I would be missing out on vitamins and protein. As I began researching I discovered great information and support groups, which really helped me along the way.

The first three weeks were the most difficult as my body detoxed and I began learning more about preparing vegan meals. The first few weeks I ate a ton of carbs, which wasn’t helping me to feel too good either.

So now Lent has come to an end, and I am still determined to continue on with consuming a plant-based diet. I have no intention at this time to going back to my Omni self.

Resources!

Www.freegfromharm.org
Www.peta.org
Www.facebook.com/blissfuljourneyblog

Great, so what about the food?

Here are some pictures of some of the amazing meals I ate over the 40 days of Lent. Most of the dishes and meals were prepared with love by my mom, mother-in-law and myself. If you are interested in seeing more, checkout my album on the Blissful Journey Blog Facebook page.

Hope you’re hungry now!

If you are interested in learning more please feel free to contact me with questions or comments.

Blessings,

Megan

3 thoughts on “Plants Man!

  1. Yummy!! Thank you for sharing some of your resources. I dont know much about being vegan, but I am definitely open to trying a vegan meal a few days out of week 🙂 Im glad this experience has brought a new meaning to you about food and living a healthy lifestyle!

    Like

    1. You’re very welcome! That’s awesome that you are open to giving it a try for a meal or two. That’s a huge step! I hope to post recipies and more resources in the future, so visit again if you get the chance! 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

